close your eyes
 
[music, lists]

Music shopping craziness


I just ordered (delivery time):

  • Brian Eno & Robert Fripp - The Equatorial Stars (3 weeks)
  • Bark Psychosis - Codename: dustsucker (1-2 weeks)
  • Piano Magic - Writers Without Homes (1-2 weeks)
  • Brian Eno & David Byrne - My Life in the Bush of Ghosts (24 hours)
  • Brian Eno - Apollo (24 hours)
  • Harold Budd & Brian Eno - Mille The Plateaux of Mirror (24 hours)

Two reasons for this: firstly I have fallen deeply in love with Brian Eno again and additionally the German Amazon offers lots of CDs (among others 500 "classic" indie albums) for 7 euros. How could I resist? I am just a feeble human, you know.


 
 

So recognizable! :-) Each time I go online shopping I have to restrain myself. I usually allow no more than two purchases at a time, also because I know that I'll visit a recordstore the next day or so... (usually just a quick scan of the new releases, on the way to home from work)

I don't know what has happened to you whilst in Norway (may I ask where you've been? I was there last summer), but your latest entries have been excellent: the Eno stuff (amazing albums, indeed!), Cluster (maybe check out the solo albums of Hans-Joachim Roedelius as well: I'd describe them as "quaint ambient". Not as refined as Eno's (ambient) stuff, but more from the heart, intuitive rather than cerebral. I bought three LP's through eßay.de, cheap!: Durch die Wüste, Lustwandel and Wenn der Südwind Weht. Highly recommended).

I downloaded the new Eno/Fripp album yesterday, I think you'll like it a lot. I'm definately going to buy it when I see it (which will be soon, I guess ;-). I was fairly dissapointed by the Piano Magic album (also from the sellout bin), certainly not as good as I expected it to be after reading so many raving stuff on the band. Turns out it's supposed to be their weakest album...

I'm also quiet curious after the Bark Psychosis album, could you report back here after you've heard it?

... link  

 

norway was quite refreshing. we started in torp (south of oslo, ryanair flies there) and went all the way along the coast to kragerö, arendal, egersund, stavanger and bergen and then back to oslo. a great country. very expensive but somehow worth it. those long summer evenings (sun light till half 11) are always fascinating. it could have been a little warmer though.

of course i will report back concernng the bark psychosis. in the meantime there are two tracks here and here.

i heard people say that the piano magic album wasn't their best. but if i remember well most of the songs on the radio planet claire show i linked to a while ago came from that album and i really enjoyed that concert.

what happened to me? a good question. i stopped smoking before the norway trip. in norway smoking is a nightmare. you can't even smoke inside the pubs anymore. the people still smoked though but outside the pubs, on the terraces etc. i guess in winter the pubs can close. and i haven't started again. i am still fighting with the nico-beast but i can see the light at the end of the tunnel.

... link  


... comment
 

Music Shopping Craziness

Man, I wish I had more cash right now--I wanna do some "music shopping craziness"

I'm pretty excited for this new Fripp/Eno collab. I didn't even know about it 'till I saw this here! I have "No Pussyfooting" and "Evening Star"--and those two are phenomenal!

I've still gotta get "My Life In The Bush...", too--it keeps slipping my mind come shopping time.

I've seen the "Ambient 3: Laaraji" disc used in a local vinyl/used CD shop--might have to scramble and get it.

... link  


... comment





 
last updated: 12/8/21, 5:41 PM
subscribers: 390
contact: alex63 at bigfoot dot com
40 years, 40 albums
why this is called close your eyes
some photos
status
Youre not logged in ... Login
menu
... home
... tags

... antville home
recent
...
Hier geht es weiter. Schon mehr oder weniger seit über 10 Jahren...
by alex63 @ 12/8/21, 5:41 PM
...
Der Schachchamp hieß entweder Miguel oder evtl. Manuel. Es gab noch eine ...
by alex63 @ 2/23/21, 8:55 AM

mp3 blogs/rotation etc.


Update: The most useful site in this category is the mp3 blog ...
by alex63 @ 1/26/20, 12:23 PM
...
du hast recht, die angeblichen lifetime forward mailadressen von bigfoot wurden irgendwann ...
by alex63 @ 12/20/19, 11:23 PM
...
Weil es auch mit John Lennon zu tun hat, würde ich dir ...
by klagefall @ 12/20/19, 4:12 PM
...
Ich bin doch nicht der Einzige, der die Sun Bear Concerts für ...
by alex63 @ 11/25/19, 8:54 PM

After the ecstacy, the laundry


Moments of transendence remind us of what is possible. We are here ...
by jacksawyer @ 11/4/19, 11:08 PM
...
Another phantastic release from 1991 I only discovered a couple of days ...
by alex63 @ 6/8/18, 11:05 PM
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
December

03/02 GIANT SAND, F, Brotfabrik............. .


they rock
music (EN)
---------------
aloof from inspiration
an aquarium drunkard
the art of noise NEW
aurgasm
the blue in the air
bradley's almanac
destination out
disquiet
dissensus
dj martian
egg city radio
eyes that can see in the dark
fingertips
i love music
an idiot's guide to dreaming
k-punk
largehearted boy
leonard's lair
misha4music
moistworks
motel de moka
musicophilia
one faint deluded smile
organissimo jazz forums
the perfumed garden
said the gramophone
silence is a rhythm too
stereogum
swens blog
utopian turtletop
vain, selfish & lazy
vinyl mine
warped reality
wordsandmusic

music (DE, FR)
--------------------
la blogothèque
euroranch
hinternet
machtdose
le musterkoffer musikstrom
satt.org: musik
schallplattenmann
die zeit - musik

other (EN)
---------------
josh blog
open chess diary
orbis quintus
the ringdahl family NEW
time4time
wood s lot

other (DE)
---------------
ahoi polloi
bahnchaos NEU
bloggold NEU
cargo NEU
chill
daily ivy
dichtheit und wahrung
einschicht
etc.pp.
filmtagebuch
goncourt's blog
herdentrieb
hotel mama
(i think) he was a journalist
jacks blog NEU
ligne claire
malorama
meine kleine stadt
mek wito
passantin
passe.par.tout
pêle-mêle dans ma tête
private collection
reisenotizen aus der realität
schachblätter
schachblog
der schachneurotiker
with or without words...
x.antville

blog bardo
---------------
the absintheur's journal
brain farts
buked & scorned
dd denkt laut
ja zu aa
the mystical beast
ohrzucker
sofa. rites de passage
sound of the suburbs
spoilt victorian child
three hundred bars
yo, ivanhoe


blogs arranged by birth date of their authors

RSS Feed

Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher