close your eyes
 
[music, artists]

The first time I listened to Nick Drake was after Christmas 1979. Fruit Tree, the three record box set of all his three albums had been on my wishlist. It was difficult to get hold of. My mother had to order it. It probably arrived early January 1980. I don't remember what I felt when I heard Time Has Told Me, the first song on Nick's first record Five Leaves Left. I was 16 and stood six foot three at the time. The exact height of Nick Drake. He was the hero of my late youth. I never met anybody (up till 1990 or something) who knew his music and I only shared it with my best friend. Nick's music was a part of me. There were times when I thought he sang about me. About my inability to connect to life, to find a girl-friend. He was my friend in spirit though he had been dead for five years already. He was me. And still is.

I just heard a cover of Day Is Done by Norah Jones (see last post). And thought she should have been forbidden to cover him. God was her version shallow. Additionally she probably sold more with this one song than Nick did with all his records in his lifetime. Fck her. Nick Drake in my world is the most difficult musician to cover. I only heard a cover of his once before. It was Joey Burns from Calexico doing Clothes of Sand. It is a very nice rendition of the song though I must admit that this song is not on Fruit Tree, I guess it is on the compilation of rarities called Time of No Reply which I only have on tape (got it later) and didn't listen to very often. I never ever want to hear a cover of any song of any of the three original Nick Drake studio albums in my life again. I want to keep him in my heart like when I was 16. In January 1980.


 
 

Hi Alex, have you heard about/seen this?

... link  


... comment
 

St. Nicholas

I just got the album, and I enjoyed it for the most part. I think the tracks that appeared before on Time Of No Reply have better mixes and sound great. My main criticism is of the two tunes that Robert Kirby did new orchestrations of... they just don't work, and they don't add to the songs. It's worth remembering that Joe Boyd and Nick Drake had already rejected these arrangements, presumably because they weren't up to scratch.

Kirby's work was, of course, an important part of Drake's sound, but I guess we all make mistakes sometimes.

It's great to hear this new album, but probably for confirmed Drake fans only.

... link  

 

thank you for the tip, willem and thank you for the info, brendan. the album is supposed to be out in germany on june, 1st. needless to say that i'll get it asap.

... link  

 

i've been hunting and hunting for the "magic" tracks on p2p, in order to figure out whether it's worth picking up. i've got "fruit tree" and most of the bootlegs, but I'm intrigued by the new arrangements and by "Tow the Line." So I appreciate your info...

As for Norah - I'm sorry, alex, that it was likely me who caused you to go look it up. You're right about its soullessness... I think it -starts- with soul, with some things unsaid, but then it goes round and round as if it's taking off all the song's clothes, then drilling into the ground like a faceless, wooden thing. oof. i can't think of anyone else who's done a nick drake cover... and that's (like you say) probably for the best.

thankyou for the little memoir.

... link  

 

oh no,

sean. i really enjoyed that bbc feature. it was full of heartbreaking memories of the people who were close to nick drake. i only didn't like that cover and as you had mentioned before in your blog, brad pitt's presentation which somehow didn't fit at all. i have to thank you for pointing me to the programme.

... link  


... comment
 

Tangent's Paul Donnelly on the cashing-in and the obsession to release every musical fart of our long dead hero in his Letter to Nick Drake.

... link  


... comment





 
last updated: 12/8/21, 5:41 PM
subscribers: 390
contact: alex63 at bigfoot dot com
40 years, 40 albums
why this is called close your eyes
some photos
status
Youre not logged in ... Login
menu
... home
... tags

... antville home
recent
...
Hier geht es weiter. Schon mehr oder weniger seit über 10 Jahren...
by alex63 @ 12/8/21, 5:41 PM
...
Der Schachchamp hieß entweder Miguel oder evtl. Manuel. Es gab noch eine ...
by alex63 @ 2/23/21, 8:55 AM

mp3 blogs/rotation etc.


Update: The most useful site in this category is the mp3 blog ...
by alex63 @ 1/26/20, 12:23 PM
...
du hast recht, die angeblichen lifetime forward mailadressen von bigfoot wurden irgendwann ...
by alex63 @ 12/20/19, 11:23 PM
...
Weil es auch mit John Lennon zu tun hat, würde ich dir ...
by klagefall @ 12/20/19, 4:12 PM
...
Ich bin doch nicht der Einzige, der die Sun Bear Concerts für ...
by alex63 @ 11/25/19, 8:54 PM

After the ecstacy, the laundry


Moments of transendence remind us of what is possible. We are here ...
by jacksawyer @ 11/4/19, 11:08 PM
...
Another phantastic release from 1991 I only discovered a couple of days ...
by alex63 @ 6/8/18, 11:05 PM
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
December

03/02 GIANT SAND, F, Brotfabrik............. .


they rock
music (EN)
---------------
aloof from inspiration
an aquarium drunkard
the art of noise NEW
aurgasm
the blue in the air
bradley's almanac
destination out
disquiet
dissensus
dj martian
egg city radio
eyes that can see in the dark
fingertips
i love music
an idiot's guide to dreaming
k-punk
largehearted boy
leonard's lair
misha4music
moistworks
motel de moka
musicophilia
one faint deluded smile
organissimo jazz forums
the perfumed garden
said the gramophone
silence is a rhythm too
stereogum
swens blog
utopian turtletop
vain, selfish & lazy
vinyl mine
warped reality
wordsandmusic

music (DE, FR)
--------------------
la blogothèque
euroranch
hinternet
machtdose
le musterkoffer musikstrom
satt.org: musik
schallplattenmann
die zeit - musik

other (EN)
---------------
josh blog
open chess diary
orbis quintus
the ringdahl family NEW
time4time
wood s lot

other (DE)
---------------
ahoi polloi
bahnchaos NEU
bloggold NEU
cargo NEU
chill
daily ivy
dichtheit und wahrung
einschicht
etc.pp.
filmtagebuch
goncourt's blog
herdentrieb
hotel mama
(i think) he was a journalist
jacks blog NEU
ligne claire
malorama
meine kleine stadt
mek wito
passantin
passe.par.tout
pêle-mêle dans ma tête
private collection
reisenotizen aus der realität
schachblätter
schachblog
der schachneurotiker
with or without words...
x.antville

blog bardo
---------------
the absintheur's journal
brain farts
buked & scorned
dd denkt laut
ja zu aa
the mystical beast
ohrzucker
sofa. rites de passage
sound of the suburbs
spoilt victorian child
three hundred bars
yo, ivanhoe


blogs arranged by birth date of their authors

RSS Feed

Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher