close your eyes
 
[music, thoughts]

How would you describe your taste in music without mentioning artists or specific genres?


My answer could be something like this:

I usually neither like music which is too mainstream nor too experimental. I don't like too pure a style as I usually find that too predictable and get bored soon.

If I had to choose between beat and tune I'd always go for the tune.

I like music which is

  • challenging and does not necessarily sink in on the first listen
  • calm and understated
  • balancing between noise and melody
  • rhythmically hypnotic and tune-wise addictive
  • eclectic with fused styles and new takes on old genres
  • made by artists who reinvent themselves from time to time
  • full of new never heard sounds (not necessarily)
  • lyrically interesting though the lyrics cannot save a musically bad record but bad lyrics can destroy good sounding music

To have a wider public I also started a discussion about this on I Love Music here though I would prefer you to comment in this blog.


 
 

Re: How would you describe your taste in music without mentioning artists or specific genres?

I don't think I could improve upon what you've already written. And really, any fan of music (regardless of the genres they prefer) would probably say the same things.

Great job.

... link  

 

Re: Re: How would you describe your taste in music without mentioning artists or specific genres?

I think I made a mistake with this. It was stupid to post my response first, I should have waited for some answers first... But I am not sure if every fan would say the same. That's what I got out of the ILM thread at least.

... link  


... comment
 

Another discussion

of this question takes place here at People Talk Too Loud. Thanks Jeff for taking this up. Not too many answers there yet but they are much more personal and insightful than the ones at ILM.

... link  


... comment
 

Re: How would you describe your taste in music without mentioning artists or specific genres?

Ugh, tough question. The old saw 'I don't know what it is, but I know what I like' doesn't explain anything, but it does sum up my general feeling. The following will sound much too spacey, but I like music that seems timeless. Music that almost makes use of the musicians, to come out on it's own volition. It can manifest itself as something completely new, or as a classically crafted defining genre moment. I tend to find myself heavily influenced by a great vocal. I agree totally with your comment on lyrics!

... link  


... comment
 

Discovering what you like

I found close your eyes because I am trying to help a friend define what type of music he likes, when he really doesn't listen to anything much. Music is such an emotional support, I thought it would help support a lot of the tough stuff he's experiencing right now. I certainly find it helps me! So my question is, how do I or does he go about figuring out where to begin with music? I"m going to forward this response to him from this person... I don't understand where the author's identity is revealed... and any other suggestions would be appreciated! He's 49, a geologist, married with 2 girls and marital challenges.

... link  

 

the author's identity is revealed nowhere except by the stuff i write here, sorry about that. it could have to do with lack of self-confidence or the security anonymity might offer.

your question isn't easy to answer, it's an important question though, i guess. music which has helped me during difficult phases in my life was mostly calm and tuneful. when i was very depressed during my studies listening to bach pieces performed on classical guitar could have a positive effect on me. it would comfort me and would drive the dark clouds away. loneliness when someone you love has left you could be cured by listening to neil young's voice. after the goldrush, harvest, on the beach are all balm for the soul of the heartbroken. what i find slightly bizarre in your comment is that you say that your friend does not really listen to music. maybe music doesn't work for him? in any case i would not impose any music on him. invite him to your house and put some music in the background that works on an emotional level for you and see what happens. if he asks what it is tell him. otherwise don't. many people do not get any support from music, i suppose.

... link  


... comment





 
last updated: 12/8/21, 5:41 PM
subscribers: 390
contact: alex63 at bigfoot dot com
40 years, 40 albums
why this is called close your eyes
some photos
status
Youre not logged in ... Login
menu
... home
... tags

... antville home
recent
...
Hier geht es weiter. Schon mehr oder weniger seit über 10 Jahren...
by alex63 @ 12/8/21, 5:41 PM
...
Der Schachchamp hieß entweder Miguel oder evtl. Manuel. Es gab noch eine ...
by alex63 @ 2/23/21, 8:55 AM

mp3 blogs/rotation etc.


Update: The most useful site in this category is the mp3 blog ...
by alex63 @ 1/26/20, 12:23 PM
...
du hast recht, die angeblichen lifetime forward mailadressen von bigfoot wurden irgendwann ...
by alex63 @ 12/20/19, 11:23 PM
...
Weil es auch mit John Lennon zu tun hat, würde ich dir ...
by klagefall @ 12/20/19, 4:12 PM
...
Ich bin doch nicht der Einzige, der die Sun Bear Concerts für ...
by alex63 @ 11/25/19, 8:54 PM

After the ecstacy, the laundry


Moments of transendence remind us of what is possible. We are here ...
by jacksawyer @ 11/4/19, 11:08 PM
...
Another phantastic release from 1991 I only discovered a couple of days ...
by alex63 @ 6/8/18, 11:05 PM
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
December

03/02 GIANT SAND, F, Brotfabrik............. .


they rock
music (EN)
---------------
aloof from inspiration
an aquarium drunkard
the art of noise NEW
aurgasm
the blue in the air
bradley's almanac
destination out
disquiet
dissensus
dj martian
egg city radio
eyes that can see in the dark
fingertips
i love music
an idiot's guide to dreaming
k-punk
largehearted boy
leonard's lair
misha4music
moistworks
motel de moka
musicophilia
one faint deluded smile
organissimo jazz forums
the perfumed garden
said the gramophone
silence is a rhythm too
stereogum
swens blog
utopian turtletop
vain, selfish & lazy
vinyl mine
warped reality
wordsandmusic

music (DE, FR)
--------------------
la blogothèque
euroranch
hinternet
machtdose
le musterkoffer musikstrom
satt.org: musik
schallplattenmann
die zeit - musik

other (EN)
---------------
josh blog
open chess diary
orbis quintus
the ringdahl family NEW
time4time
wood s lot

other (DE)
---------------
ahoi polloi
bahnchaos NEU
bloggold NEU
cargo NEU
chill
daily ivy
dichtheit und wahrung
einschicht
etc.pp.
filmtagebuch
goncourt's blog
herdentrieb
hotel mama
(i think) he was a journalist
jacks blog NEU
ligne claire
malorama
meine kleine stadt
mek wito
passantin
passe.par.tout
pêle-mêle dans ma tête
private collection
reisenotizen aus der realität
schachblätter
schachblog
der schachneurotiker
with or without words...
x.antville

blog bardo
---------------
the absintheur's journal
brain farts
buked & scorned
dd denkt laut
ja zu aa
the mystical beast
ohrzucker
sofa. rites de passage
sound of the suburbs
spoilt victorian child
three hundred bars
yo, ivanhoe


blogs arranged by birth date of their authors

RSS Feed

Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher